A Game of Fear By Charles Todd

LoadingAdd To Favorite

A Game of Fear: A Novel (Inspector Ian Rutledge Mysteries Book 24) By Charles Todd


Book/Novel Author: Charles Todd

Book/Novel Title: A Game of Fear



Get Now


Read online

Full Screen



In this newest installment of the acclaimed New York Times bestselling series, Scotland Yard’s Ian Rutledge is faced with his most perplexing case yet: a murder with no body, and a killer who can only be a ghost.Spring, 1921. Scotland Yard sends Inspector Ian Rutledge to the sea-battered village of Walmer on the coast of Essex, where amongst the salt flats and a military airfield lies Benton Abbey, a grand manor with a storied past. The lady of the house may prove his most bewildering witness yet. She claims she saw a violent murder—but there is no body, no blood. She also insists she recognized the killer: Captain Nelson. Only it could not have been Nelson because he died during the war.Everyone in the village believes that Lady Benton’s losses have turned her mind—she is, after all, a grieving widow and mother—but the woman Rutledge interviews is rational and self-possessed. And then there is Captain Nelson: what really happened to him in the war? The more Rutledge delves into this baffling case, the more suspicious tragedies he uncovers. The Abbey and the airfield hold their secrets tightly. Until Rutledge arrives, and a new trail of death follows…
Have read most of Charles Todd’s Ian Rutledge mysteries and they have all been great reads. Jamison is a good conscience for Rutledge.
The 24th book in the Ian Rutledge series, takes place in 1921. Rutledge, as always is accompanied by the specter of his friend, Hamish, who died in WWI. Hamish serves as Rutledge’s sounding board and conscience. Although Rutledge wasn’t aware of why he had these horrid memories of WWI, today we can see that he suffered from PSTD. Rutledge is called to a small coastal town where a WWI airfield was located. He’s there because a friend of higher-ups in Scotland Yard, Lady Benton, says she saw a murder committed by a dead man. No body was discovered, but as Rutledge wades into the investigation, he discovers there’s murder involved by not done by a dead man. Although there are many different threads spreading out in the story, Todd (the pen name for a mother-son writing team) pulls them all together. Along with all the dead-end leads, Rutledge follows before solving the case, readers learn that his attraction to Kate Gordon continues to grow, as hinted at in previous books. At the end of the book, readers discover that he is being promoted to Chief Inspector, despite the animosity of his boss Markham. In the beginning of the book, readers are told of the death of the co-author’s mother and although the book’s ending indicates more to come, one wonders if the direction of the books might change.
Most recent book by this author. Read them all. Didn’t change much since his mother is no longer part of team.
Good page turner. Read most of it over 2 days. Ian Rutledge is such a tragic hero but the ending is hopeful leaving us wanting more.

Plot was weak. Difficulty in following characters. Storyline went on forever. Rutledge as usual back and forth in his auto along the British countryside. He actually shows up in France for several unnecessary chapters. The Lady of the Manor is most annoying and the rest of the characters are bland. Most difficult to finish and ending was flat.


Download PDF File

4.9/5309 ratings